The staff of the Junior School in 1959.


The photograph was taken in the school hall in 1959 of the staff of the Junior School.  Some of the staff have not yet been identified but standing are:- Mr J.E.Porter, Mr R.J. Morgan and Mr T.B. Merchant; seated:-Mr G.L. Pearson, Mrs E.M. Sutton, Mr P.B.Troughton, and Miss W.A. Fisher.  The three unknown members could have been Mrs N.M. Thomas, Mrs S.A. Smith and Mrs B. Wooldridge as their names all appear in the list of staff in the log-book in April 1959.  Percy Troughton was appointed headmaster in 1952 and retired in 1974.  His deputy, Jack Porter was appointed headmaster in 1974 and retired in 1980.

supplied by: Janet Byard-Jones

Previous: The Infants’ School staff - 1920s

Next: Joseph F. Pearson, Mayor of Stourbridge


Think lady directly behind Mrs Sutton is Mrs Thomas and lady behind Miss Fisher is Mrs Smith. I was a pupil long time ago!

Liz spiers -

Add your comment